The Arab League, formally the League of Arab States is a regional organization in the Arab world, which is located in Africa and Western Asia.

The Arab League was formed in Cairo on 22 March 1945 initially with six members: Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, and Syria. Yemen joined soon afterward as the 7th member.

Kaaba_Mecca_Saudi Arabia_Islam_Pilgrimage_PD

Saudi Arabia

Currently, the League has 22 members, but Syria’s participation has been suspended since November 2011 and due to ongoing instability and the refugee crisis.

Furthermore, even though the State of Palestine is a member but it is not recognized by the UN as a sovereign country but has an observer seat in the UN!

The League’s main goal is to “draw closer the relations between member states and co-ordinate collaboration between them, to safeguard their independence and sovereignty, and to consider in a general way the affairs and interests of the Arab countries”.

Countries of Arab League

Citadel Hill Amman Jordan Ruin_PD

Citadel Hill Ruins, Amman, Jordan


Lake of Tunis, Tunisia


A man picking veggies in Dikhil, Djibouti

January 4, 2020 6:40 pm Published by

Join the Travel Club