Micronesia is a little region present inside the huge Oceania. It is comprised of a collection of thousands of islands located in the Pacific Ocean. The culture of the island resembles that of Polynesia and Melanesia. The climate of the region is tropical as well.

The largest island here is Guam, which is almost 600km2 in the area. The island groups, however, form four major parts of Micronesia: the Caroline Islands, the Gilbert Islands, the Mariana Islands, and the Marshall Islands. The region also contains Nauru, which has a population of 9300 people. That means it’s close to having the second least population country in the world.  Wake Island is another significant island. The area also has a rich fauna, with a wide variety of beautiful birds endemic to the region.

There are various ethnic tribes living in Micronesia. However, the Micronesian art, developed from the Lapita culture, is a beauty in itself.

The Caroline Islands are an archipelago of about 500 small coral islands. They form two states: the Federated States of Micronesia and Palau.

The Gilbert Islands are a chain of sixteen atolls and coral islands. Geographically, the equator also divides them into the northern and the southern Gilbert Islands. The Republic of Kiribati occupies all of the Gilberts, as well as the nearby island of Tarawa.

The Mariana Islands are an archipelago of fifteen volcanic mountains. Politically, the islands are divided into two territories of the United States. The northern part is the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. And the southern part is Guam.

The Marshall Islands is an island country to the north of Nauru and Kiribati, east of the Federated States of Micronesia, and south of the Wake Island.

Nauru is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It is the world’s smallest republic, as it covers only 21 km2 of area. It is a popular tourist destination. However, a coral reef surrounds the island and prevents it from the development of sea transportation.

Wake Island is a coral atoll to the north of the Marshall Islands. It is another US territory in Oceania. Access to the island is restricted, and all activities are managed by the US Air Force.

August 19, 2016 12:00 am Published by 2 Comments

Join the Travel Club

Warning: Parameter 2 to posts_where_recent_post1() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/customer/www/artoftravel.tips/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 324

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *