Holy Lands

The Holy Lands or sites have been the focus of travel and religious pilgrimage for centuries. Owing to their religious and cultural importance many of these places continue to attract millions of visitors each year.

Usually, most of these holy places unite the human spirit and create a mystic vibe of inclusion, brotherhood/sisterhood, and hope.

Holy Lands

In order of importance and appeal to the travelers and pilgrims, below is the list of destinations associated with the term “Holy Lands” for each major world religion.

Jewish Holy Lands

Temple_Mount_Western_Wall_Jewish Holy Lands Sites

Western Wall. Photo by David Shankbone.

  • Israel – a Jewish State
  • Mount Sinai – place where Moses received the Ten Commandments
  • Jerusalem – vast majority of sites sacred to Judaism
  • Hebron – burial place of Abraham
  • Safed – according to legends, it was founded by a son of Noah after the Great Flood
  • Tiberias – one of Judaism’s Four Holy Cities, along with Jerusalem, Hebron, and Safed
  • Jordan – in the Biblical times much of the Jordan was part of the Kingdom of Israel & Judah
  • Red Sea – where Moses parted the sea in order to escape slavery

Mount Sinai_Moses_Mountain_Mount Moses

The Holy Mount Sinai aka Mount Moses

Christian Holy Lands

  • Bethlehem – the birthplace of Jesus
  • Nazareth – the childhood home of Jesus
  • Sea of Galilee – much of the ministry of Jesus occurred on the shores of Lake Galilee
  • Jerusalem – place of the crucifixion and resurrection
  • Mount Sinai – place where Moses received the Ten Commandments
  • Tiberias – sites of Mt. Tabor (Transfiguration of Jesus), Cana (wine miracle), Tabgha, Sermon on the Mount
  • Jordan – Biblical places such as Bethany, Madaba, Mount Nebo, Anjara, Salt, Jerash, Petra, Aqaba, and Tiro
  • Jericho – the location of the Good Samaritan incident and parable

Islamic Holy Lands

Hajj Islam Muslim pilgrimage Holy lands sites

  • Mecca – the holiest place in Islam, birthplace of the Prophet Muhammad and the faith itself
  • Medina – home to world’s three oldest mosques and the burial place of prophet Muhammad
  • Jerusalem – several early Islamic holy sites

Bahá’í Holy Lands


  • Haifa – hanging Bahai Gardens of Haifa
  • Akko

Hindu Holy Lands

Cave_Temple_of_Amarnath_Hindu Holy Lands Site

  • Amarnath (pictured above)
  • Puri (Eastearn Holy Dham)
  • Dvārakā (Western Holy Dham)
  • Badrinath (Northern Holy Dham)
  • Rameshwaram (Southern Holy Dham)
  • Kedarnath
  • Gangotri
  • Yamunotri
  • Varanasi – Kashi
  • Allahabad – Prayag
  • Haridwar
  • Rishikesh
  • Mathura
  • Vrindavan
  • Ujjain
  • Nashik
  • Somnath
  • Ayodhya
  • Vaishno Devi
  • Kolkata – Kali Temple, Belur Math
  • Mt. Kailash (below)

Mount Mt. Kailash_Tibet_Hindu Holy Site_Lands

Buddhist Holy Lands

  • Bodh Gaya – the site of the Bodhi Tree where the Buddha realized enlightenment and Buddhahood
  • Lumbini – birthplace of Gautama Buddha
  • Sarnath – the site of Buddha’s first sermon
  • Kushinagar – where Gautama Buddha died and attained Nirvana

Sikh Holy Lands

  • Amritsar – Golden Temple, Akal Takht Sahib
  • Bhatinda – Damdama Sahib
  • Anandpur – Keshgarh Sahib
  • Patna – the Takht Sri Sahib
  • Nanded – Hazur Sahib

Druidism Holy Lands

  • Stonehenge –  a site of pilgrimage for Druids in England

Confucianism Holy Lands

  • Qufu – Temple of Confucius, Cemetery of Confucius, and Kong Family Mansion

Taoist Holy Lands

  • Wudang Mountains, Hubei Province of China
  • Mount Qingcheng, Sichuan Province of China
  • Mount Longhu, Jiangxi Province of China
  • Mount Qiyun, Anhui Province of China